Events

Attention Please!

Due to the corona virus pandemic, most public activities at Wat Paknam are suspended.

Many tourist attractions at Wat Paknam are also temporarily closed to visitors.

Any inquiry should be made to Wat Paknam’s staffs at facebook fanpage “watpaknam.bkk”.

 

Calendar of Events 2021

JANUARY

1 Jan (Friday) – New Year’s Day

6 Jan (Wednesday) – Half Waning Moon Buddhist Observance Day

9 Jan (Wednesday) – National Children’s Day

9 to 10 Jan – The 177th Blood Donation Activity at Wat Paknam

13 Jan (Wednesday) – New Moon Buddhist Observance Day

16 Jan (Saturday) – National Teacher’s Day

21 Jan (Thursday) – Half Waxing Moon Buddhist Observance Day

28 Jan (Thursday) – Full Moon Buddhist Observance Day

 

FEBRUARY

3 Feb (Wednesday) – The Annual Past Abbots Memorial Day and the 62nd year of Luang Por Wat Paknam’s Passing Away

3 Feb (Wednesday) – The Annual Memorial Service for Past Abbots and Annual  Robes Offering Fund Raising Ceremony

5 Feb (Friday) – Half Waning Moon Buddhist Observance Day

11 Feb (Thursday) – New Moon Buddhist Observance Day

12 Feb (Friday) – Chinese New Year’s Day

19 Feb (Friday) – Half Waxing Moon Buddhist Observance Day

26 Feb (Friday) – Holy Magha Puja Day / Full Moon Buddhist Observance Day

 

MARCH

6 Mar (Saturday) – Half Waning Moon Buddhist Observance Day

13 Mar (Saturday) – New Moon Buddhist Observance Day

21 Mar (Sunday) – Half Waxing Moon Buddhist Observance Day

27 Mar (Saturday) – Master Guru Treetar Niamkham’s Birthday Anniversary

28 Mar (Sunday) – Full Moon Buddhist Observance Day

 

APRIL

4 Apr (Sunday) – Ancestors Worshipping Day (Chinese Tradition)

5 Apr (Monday) – Half Waning Moon Buddhist Observance Day

6 Apr (Tuesday) – Royal Chakri Dynasty Day

10 to 11 Apr (Saturday to Sunday) – The 178th Blood Donation Activity at Wat Paknam

11 Apr (Sunday) – New Moon Buddhist Observance Day

13 to 15 Apr (Tuesday to Thursday) – Songkran Festival / Thai New Year’s Days

19 Apr (Monday) – Half Waxing Moon Buddhist Observance Day

26 Apr (Monday) – Full Moon Buddhist Observance Day

 

MAY

1 May (Saturday) – Labour Day

4 May (Tuesday) – Royal Thai Coronation Day

4 May (Tuesday) – Half Waning Moon Buddhist Observance Day

10 May (Monday) – Royal Ploughing Ceremony Day

11 May (Tuesday) – New Moon Buddhist Observance Day

19 May (Wednesday) – Half Waxing Moon Buddhist Observance Day

26 May (Wednesday) – Holy Visakha Puja Day / Full Moon Buddhist Observance Day

 

JUNE

3 Jun (Thursday) – Lord Buddha’s Cremation Anniversary (Moon Calendar)

3 Jun (Thursday) – H.M. Queen Suthida’s Birthday Anniversary

3 Jun (Thursday) – Half Waning Moon Buddhist Observance Day

9 Jun (Wednesday) – New Moon Buddhist Observance Day

17 Jun (Thursday) – Half Waxing Moon Buddhist Observance Day

24 Jun (Thursday) – Full Moon Buddhist Observance Day

 

JULY

2 Jul (Friday) – Half Waning Moon Buddhist Observance Day

9 Jul (Friday) – New Moon Buddhist Observance Day

10 to 11 Jul (Saturday to Sunday) – The 179th Blood Donation Activity at Wat Paknam

17 Jul (Saturday) – Half Waxing Moon Buddhist Observance Day

24 Jul (Saturday) – Holy Asalha Puja Day (Buddha’s First Sermon) / Full Moon Buddhist Observance Day

25 Jul (Sunday) – Annual Buddhist Rain Retreat Commencement Day

26 Jul (Monday) – Thailand’s Substitution Holiday on the occasion of Holy Asalha Puja Day

28 Jul (Wednesday) – H.M. King Rama X’s Birthday Anniversary

31 Jul (Saturday) – The First Day of Annual Merit Making Ceremony of Buddhist Novice Monks at Wat Paknam, Bangkok.

 

AUGUST

1 Aug (Sunday) – Half Waning Moon Buddhist Observance Day

1 Aug (Sunday) – The Second Day of Annual Merit Making Ceremony of Buddhist Novice Monks at Wat Paknam, Bangkok.

1 Aug (Sunday) – The Gratitude Day of Luang Por Wat Paknam’s Alumni Association.

8 Aug (Sunday) – New Moon Buddhist Observance Day

12 Aug (Thursday) – H.M. Queen Mother Sirikit’s Birthday Anniversary

12 Aug (Thursday) – National Mother’s Day

16 Aug (Monday) – Half Waxing Moon Buddhist Observance Day

23 Aug (Monday) – Full Moon Buddhist Observance Day

26 Aug (Thursday) – Birthday Anniversary of His Holiness Somdet Phramaharatchamangkhalachariya, the present Lord Abbot of Wat Paknam, Bangkok.

31 Aug (Tuesday) – Half Waning Moon Buddhist Observance Day

 

SEPTEMBER

6 Sep (Monday) – New Moon Buddhist Observance Day

14 Sep (Tuesday) – Half Waxing Moon Buddhist Observance Day

21 Sep (Tuesday) – Full Moon Buddhist Observance Day

21 Sep (Tuesday) – The 104th Anniversary of Luang Por Wat Paknam’s Dhammakaya Attainment Day

29 Sep (Wednesday) – Half Waning Moon Buddhist Observance Day

 

OCTOBER

5 to 6 (Tuesday to Wednesday) – The Great Jataka Preaching Ceremony

6 Oct (Wednesday) – New Moon Buddhist Observance Day

9 to 10 Oct (Saturday to Sunday) – The 180th Blood Donation Activity at Wat Paknam

6 to 14 Oct – Thailand’s Annual Vegetarian Observance Days

13 Oct (Wednesday) – The Passing Away Anniversary of H.M. King Rama IX.

14 Oct (Thursday) – Half Waxing Moon Buddhist Observance Day

21 Oct (Thursday) – The End Date of Annual Buddhist Rain Retreat / Full Moon Buddhist Observance Day

22 Oct (Friday) – The Annual Devorohana Alms Round Ceremony Marking the End of Buddhist Rain Retreat

23 Oct (Saturday) – King Rama V Day

25 Oct (Monday) – Thailand’s National Substitute Holiday on the Occasion of King Rama V Day

27 Oct (Wednesday) – Merit Making Ceremony on the Occasion of The 137th Birthday Anniversary of Luang Por Wat Paknam

29 Oct (Friday) – Half Waning Moon Buddhist Observance Day

 

NOVEMBER

4 Nov (Thursday) – New Moon Buddhist Observance Day

12 Nov (Friday) – Half Waxing Moon Buddhist Observance Day

14 Nov (Sunday) – Royal Kathina Robes Offering Ceremony Day

19 Nov (Friday) – Full Moon Buddhist Observance Day

19 Nov (Friday) – Annual Loy Krathong Festival

27 Nov (Saturday) – Half Waning Moon Buddhist Observance Day

 

DECEMBER

4 Dec (Saturday) – New Moon Buddhist Observance Day

5 Dec (Sunday) – H.M. King Rama IX’s Birthday Anniversary

5 Dec (Sunday) – Thailand’s National Father’s Day

6 Dec (Monday) – Thailand’s National Substitute Holiday on the Occasion of Father’s Day

ุ6 Dec (Monday) – Dhammakaya Memorial Day

10 Dec (Friday) – Thailand’s Constitution Day

12 Dec (Sunday) – Half Waxing Moon Buddhist Observance Day

19 Dec (Sunday) – Full Moon Buddhist Observance Day

25 Dec (Saturday) – The Western Annual Family Day

27 Dec (Monday) – Half Waning Moon Buddhist Observance Day

31 Dec (Friday) – New Year’s Eve


Meditation Practice Sessions

At Wat Paknam, Bangkok, Thailand

 

Charoen Vipassana Hall

(Hor Vipassana)

Saturday, Sunday and Official Holidays:

At 08.00 – 09:30 a.m. 

At 10:00 – 11:30 a.m.

At 01:00 – 02:00 p.m.

At 06:30 – 07:30 p.m.   

Everyday:

At 08:30 – 09:30 a.m. (Except Buddhist Holy Day.)

At 06:30 – 07:30 p.m.   

 

Sungvechanee Mongkol Niramitr Hall

(Hor Luang Por Wat Paknam)

Every Thursday:

At 02:00 – 03:00 p.m. (Pledging to be students of Dhammakaya Meditation)

 

Note:  To attend the meditation sessions, please dress politely.  Women are required to wear long skirt.  Please turn off your mobile phone(s) and electronic device(s) before joining the meditation session(s).  Meditation session is conducted in Thai language only, please learn meditation method from this website prior to attending meditation sessions.